In 1943 the Maryland Legislature passed an Act creating 24 Forest Conservancy Boards, one in each county and one in Baltimore City. Board members are appointed to three-year terms by the Assistant Secretary of the Maryland Department of Natural Resources.

The Boards act as advocates of sound forest management practices and promote conservation of Maryland's forest resources. Board activities include educational programs, planting of school forests, and timber harvest plan reviews.

Because the Boards are county-based, each one develops an understanding and awareness of regional issues, becoming allies for local governments and landowners who are concerned with the maintenance and stewardship of public and private forest resources.

Current members include:

  • Chair- Megan Mills
  • Secretary- James Eierdam
  • Treasurer- Wilmer Snell
  • Member- Marty Adams
  • Member- Ted Cooper
  • Member- Elissa Reineck

The Board members volunteer more than 200 hours each year teaching the value of trees and the best forest management practices. Among the varied activities of the Howard County Forestry Board the following programs are central to our mission.

Board Group Photo

More information about the board's activities can be found in our Forestry Brochure.